They’re Going Fast: The Target/Neiman-Marcus Designer Collection

Last December, Target & Neiman-Marcus teamed up with a slew of designers to come out with a limited-edition collection. This collection was released just in time for the holiday shopping season and fashionistas and regular women alike were chomping at the bit at the Target/NM website on the eve of December 1.

Instead of the lines both companies expected, the line really hasn’t sold well. Those looking from the NM side thought the products were “cheap looking,” while those on the Target side thought the prices were too high. I understood both sides. I thought the product quality or details on some of the items wasn’t up to par with the name of the designer, and other items I laughed and then thought ‘WT#” at the price.

However, the entire collection is on sale now, and there are several pieces that are worth picking up if you can find them:

targetnmClockwise from top:
rag & bone Men’s cardigan, $21 | Lela Rose lace top, $21 | Marc Jacobs scarf, $21
Oscar de la Renta bag, $18 | Tory Birch thermos and lunchbox, in stores only
Marc Jacobs pouch, $21 | Jason Wu slippers, in stores only| Lela Rose dress, $30

I have several items from this collection already, such as the ODLR canvas bag, which will be perfect come spring & summer. I also received this Altuzarra martini shaker and glasses for Christmas:
shakersThese are also on sale, the shaker is $15, and the glasses (a set of four) are also $15.

I’m also highly considering getting the rag & bone cardigan above. I almost bought it in stores, and I’m wishing I had. Even though it’s for the gentlemen, any woman would be happy wearing it. I’m also considering getting this adorable Alice + Olivia carry-on luggage ($53). It’s not that I really need a new carry-on, it’s the fact that I’m that woman who sits and stares at the baggage carousel because I keep forgetting what my boring luggage looks like. No joke, I’ve watched my suitcase go around several times before realizing it was mine.

If anything really catches your eye, I’d buy it ASAP. Now the collection has gone on sale for roughly 70% off, people are snatching up it pretty quickly. Hang on to the receipt, because the original return date deadline was January 5th, and now I believe it’s the 15th. I’m not sure why Target/Neiman-Marcus has such stringent return policies on these items, but if you end up not liking something you may end up stuck with it.